Business Community

PenLight board members re-elected

Posted on May 3rd, 2023 By:

Marc Jorgenson, Scott Junge and Roger Spadoni were re-elected to the Peninsula Light board of directors at the utility’s annual meeting on May 1.

Jorgenson earned 2,840 votes, Junge 2,682 and Spadoni 2,379 in balloting of participating PenLight customers. Challengers were Lise Kristiansen (2,039 votes), Mark Michel (1,051) and Cameron Smith (715).

PenLight is a member-owned utility cooperative serving Gig Harbor, the Key Peninsula and Fox Island. A nine-member board of directors, elected by member-owners, governs the utility.

The utility mailed 32,652 board election ballots to customers, with 4,219 returned for a participation rate of just less than 13 percent. PenLight needed a participation level of 12 percent for the election to be deemed valid.

Board members serve three-year terms.

Mark Jorgenson

Roger Spadoni

Scott Junge

The board also elected officers for the 2023-’24 term at the annual meeting. Junge will serve as board president, with Debra Ross  as vice president, Jorgenson as treasurer and Jim Smalley as secretary. Other board members include L. Paul Alvestad, Erin Gatherum, Nick Markovich and Signo Uddenberg.

PenLight is the second largest cooperative in the Northwest, serving about 34,000 meters with 1,006 miles of line and 112 square miles of service territory. The company also provides service to more than 3,200 water consumers.