Community Government

26th District House seat draws a crowded field of candidates

Posted on May 10th, 2024 By:

Several candidates filed to run for the 26th Legislative District House of Representatives position currently held by Michelle Caldier on Friday, May 10, the final day of filing week.

Caldier, running for a sixth term in Olympia, is challenged by one fellow Republican, two Democrats and an independent. All except Caldier and independent Joshua Smith filed Friday afternoon.

Most other candidates who filed to seek political office between May 6 and May 10 already had made their intentions known.

Local voters will decide among five candidates for the Sixth Congressional District seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Derek Kilmer, D-Gig Harbor. In the 26th Legislative District, Position 1 drew the previously announced three candidates.

Two candidates filed to run for Pierce County Executive and three will run for Assessor-Treasurer. The office of sheriff, being vacated by incumbent Ed Troyer, drew six hopefuls.

Click here to see the full list of candidates for offices in Pierce County. Candidates whose names will appear on local ballots include:

Sixth Congressional District

  • Janis Clark, Republican, of Federal Way
  • Hilary Franz, Democrat, currently state Public Lands Commissioner
  • Drew C. MacEwen, Republican, currently a state senator representing the 35th Legislative District
  • J. Graham Ralston, Independent, a lawyer from Port Angeles
  • Emily Randall, Democrat, a state senator representing Gig Harbor and the 26th Legislative District

26th Legislative District Position 1

  • Jim Henderson, Republican, of Bremerton
  • Adison Richards, Democrat, of Bremerton
  • Jesse Young, Republican, of Gig Harbor

26th Legislative District Position 2

  • Michelle Caldier, Republican, of Gig Harbor (incumbent)
  • Rachel Harter, Republican, of Gig Harbor
  • Lori McPherson, Democrat, of Bremerton
  • Tiffiny Mitchell, Democrat, of Port Orchard
  • Josh Smith, Independent, of Gig Harbor

Pierce County Executive

  • Kelly Chambers, Republican, of Puyallup
  • Ryan Mello, Democrat, of Tacoma

Pierce County Assessor-Treasurer

  • Marty Campbell of Tacoma
  • Kent D. Keel of Tacoma
  • Joe Lonergan of Tacoma

Pierce County Sheriff

  • Mike Csapo of Puyallup
  • Cyndie Fajardo of Spanaway
  • Craig Gocha of Puyallup
  • Darin G. Harris of Spanaway
  • Patti Jackson of Tacoma
  • Keith Swank of Puyallup

The primary election is Aug. 6. The general election is Nov. 5.